G I S in Water Resources
Fall Semester 2018
USU CEE6440, UT Austin CE 394K.3

ONLINE course offered jointly by the University of Texas at Austin and Utah State University

Instructors: David R. Maidment
University of Texas at Austin
http://www.caee.utexas.edu/prof/maidment
David G Tarboton
Utah State University

http://hydrology.usu.edu/dtarb

Websites:
UT Austin: http://www.caee.utexas.edu/prof/maidment/giswr2018/giswr2018.htm
USU: http://hydrology.usu.edu/dtarb/giswr/2018
USU Canvas: https://usu.instructure.com/courses/495243

Class Video Link. Live during classes and archived for later viewing
Adobe Connect Link.

Course Syllabus: GISWRSyllabus2018.pdf

Student Term Projects

General Information

Term Project


Schedule and Lecture Material

Class

Date

Subject

Lecturer

0

Tues Aug 28

Introduction to CEE6440 GIS in Water Resources at USU Lecture0.pptx

Tarboton

1

Thu Aug 30

Introduction to GIS in Water Resources Lecture12018.pptx, GISWRSynopsis1.pdf

Maidment

2

Tue Sep 4

Introduction to ArcGIS Lecture22018.pptx, GISWRSynopsis2.pdf

Maidment

3

Thu Sep 6

Exercise 1: Introduction to ArcGIS Ex12018.pdf, Ex1Data.zip

Maidment

4

Tue Sep 11

Geodesy, Map Projections and Coordinate Systems MapProj.pptx SynopsisMapProjections.pdf

Maidment

5

Thu Sep 13

Data Sources for GIS in Water Resources DataSources2018.pptx SynopsisDataSources.pdf DataSources2018.pdf Homework1.pdf

Maidment

6

Tue Sep 18

Exercise 2: Building a Watershed Basemap Ex22018.pdf

Maidment

7

Thu Sep 20

Spatial Analysis SpatialAnalysis.pptx SynopsisSpatialAnalysis.pdf Slope.pdf RasterExample.zip [1 page term project proposal due]

Tarboton

8

Tue Sep 25

Exercise 3: Spatial analysis in Hydrology. Ex32018.pdf, Ex3Overview.pptx, Ex3Data.zip, LandCoverAreaCorrection.pdf

Tarboton

9

Thu Sep 27

Digital Elevation Model Based Watershed and Stream Network Delineation. DemWatershedDelineation.pptx, SynopsisDEMWatershedDelineation.pdf

Tarboton

10

Tue Oct 2

Extended Hydrologic Terrain Analysis. ExtendedTerrainAnalysis.pptx

Tarboton

11

Thu Oct 4

Exercise 4. Watershed and Stream Network Delineation. Ex42018.pdf, Ex3Explanations.pptx, Ex4data.zip

Tarboton

12

Tue Oct 9

Exercise 4 continued. National Water Model and Flood Response NWMFlood.pptx

Tarboton/Maidment

13

Thu Oct 11

Review for Midterm Exam. Review2018.pdf, MidtermReview2018.pptx. Past exams.

Maidment

14

Tue Oct 16

Midterm exam

Both

15

Thu Oct 18

Flood emergency response FloodConditions.pptx. Texas Flood Response System TFRS.pptx. Midterm return Midterm2018Soln.pdf

Maidment

16

Tue Oct 23

Height above Nearest Drainage (HAND) flood inundation mapping. HAND_Flood_Inundation_Mapping.pptx

Tarboton

17

Thu Oct 25

Exercise 5: Height above nearest drainage (HAND) Flood Inundation mapping, Ex52018.pdf, Ex5data.zip. [Tarboton lecturing from Austin]

Tarboton

18

Tue Oct 30

Extending ArcGIS using Programming (Python). Programming.pptx, MyWatershed.zip. [Term project 2 page progress report due] Term Project Review Assignments.

Tarboton

19

Thu Nov 1

Demography Demography.pptx. ESRI Story Maps https://arcg.is/001jje, https://arcg.is/1GyvbC.

Maidment

20

Tue Nov 6

LIDAR LIDAR.pptx

Maidment

21

Thu Nov 8

Water information sharing and HydroShare. HydroShare_GISWR_2018.pptx, HydroShareDemoData.zip

Tarboton

22

Tue Nov 13

Term Paper Presentations Texas

Maidment

23

Thu Nov 15

Term Paper Presentations Texas

Maidment

24

Tue Nov 20

Term Paper Presentations USU. Seven Students.

Tarboton

Thu Nov 22

Thanksgiving

25

Tue Nov 27

Term Paper Presentations Texas

Maidment

26

Thu Nov 29

Term Paper Presentations USU and Texas. Two USU students, Six Texas Students.

Tarboton

27

Tue Dec 4

Term Paper Presentations Texas

Maidment

28

Thu Dec 6

Term Paper Presentations Texas. Final Exam Handout. GISWRFinal2018.pdf, GISWRFinal2018.docx, austin.zip

Maidment/Tarboton

Fri Dec 7

Term project due